Who regulates hospice care in Texas?
Texas Health and Human Services (HHS)
The Texas Health and Human Services (HHS) licenses, certifies and surveys home and community support services agencies (HCSSAs) for compliance with state and federal laws and regulations. Through these regulatory activities, HHS protects Texas citizens receiving home health, hospice and personal assistance services.
What is the criteria for hospice in Texas?
To be eligible for hospice care, patients must have a diagnosis of a life-limiting illness or terminal disease with a life expectancy of six months or less as well as a desire for comfort care rather than curative care.
What questions does hospice ask?
Questions to ask How quickly will the hospice respond if medications do not seem to be sufficiently addressing pain or symptoms? What does the hospice do when someone’s pain cannot be adequately managed at home? If there is a need for inpatient care, how will that be addressed by the hospice?
What are the requirements for hospice to provide services to an end of life patient?
- They get care from a Medicare-certified hospice.
- Their attending physician (if they have one) and the hospice physician certifies them as terminally ill, with a medical prognosis of 6 months or less to live if the illness runs its normal course.
What does hospice cover in Texas?
Hospice services may include: Physician services and nursing care. Medical equipment and supplies. Medication for symptom control and pain relief. Physical, occupational and speech therapies.
How long can you be on hospice with Medicare?
If you live longer than 6 months, you can still get hospice care, as long as the hospice medical director or other hospice doctor recertifies that you’re terminally ill. You can get hospice care for two 90-day benefit periods, followed by an unlimited number of 60-day benefit periods.