Who is exempt minimum wage?

Who is exempt minimum wage?

There are some employees who are exempt from the minimum wage law, such as outside salespersons, individuals who are the parent, spouse, or child of the employer, and apprentices regularly indentured under the State Division of Apprenticeship Standards.

Are there any exceptions to the minimum wage?

The Federal Department of Labor has published the following list of exceptions to minimum wage and overtime wage laws. If your job is listed as exempt from minimum wage law, then your employer is not required by law to pay you at or over federal or state minimum wage.

Who are exempt from minimum wage and overtime?

Exemptions from Both Minimum Wage and Overtime Pay: Executive, administrative, and professional employees (including teachers and academic administrative personnel in elementary and secondary schools), outside sales employees, and employees in certain computer-related occupations (as defined in DOL regulations);

Are there any exemptions for minimum wage in Minnesota?

Professional exemption. Minnesota minimum wage law exempts bona fide professional employees from its minimum wage and overtime requirements. MN Statute 177.23(7)(6) To qualify as an exempt professional employee, an employee must:

How much is the federal minimum wage per hour?

Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the current Federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. Basic Minimum Rate (per hour): $10.10 An employee earning a guaranteed monthly compensation of $2,000 or more is exempt from the State minimum wage and overtime law.

The Federal Department of Labor has published the following list of exceptions to minimum wage and overtime wage laws. If your job is listed as exempt from minimum wage law, then your employer is not required by law to pay you at or over federal or state minimum wage.

Exemptions from Both Minimum Wage and Overtime Pay: Executive, administrative, and professional employees (including teachers and academic administrative personnel in elementary and secondary schools), outside sales employees, and employees in certain computer-related occupations (as defined in DOL regulations);

Professional exemption. Minnesota minimum wage law exempts bona fide professional employees from its minimum wage and overtime requirements. MN Statute 177.23(7)(6) To qualify as an exempt professional employee, an employee must:

Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the current Federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. Basic Minimum Rate (per hour): $10.10 An employee earning a guaranteed monthly compensation of $2,000 or more is exempt from the State minimum wage and overtime law.