What happens if you pay someone less than the minimum wage?

What happens if you pay someone less than the minimum wage?

Employers who pay workers less than the minimum wage have to pay back arrears of wages to the worker at current minimum wage rates. They also face hefty financial penalties of up to 200% of arrears – capped at £10,000 per worker – which are paid to the government.

What’s the minimum wage for the state of Mississippi?

Mississippi Minimum Wage for 2018, 2019. Mississippi’s state minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour. This is the same as the current Federal Minimum Wage rate. The minimum wage applies to most employees in Mississippi, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.

Can a tipped employee be paid less than the minimum wage?

Some employees are exempt from minimum wage requirements, such as those who are not protected by the Fair Labor Standards Act, tipped employees such as restaurant servers, for example, can be paid at a lower rate than minimum wage.

Do you get paid less than minimum wage in the military?

However, at the very basic level, active military members do not get paid less than minimum wage. For instance, an E1 private with less than 2 years experience can make $19,198.80 annually, not counting any of the allowances or bonuses discussed earlier.

How much is the minimum wage in Mississippi?

Therefore, Mississippi’s overtime minimum wage is $10.88 per hour, one and a half times the regular Mississippi minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. If you earn more then the Mississippi minimum wage rate, you are entitled to at least 1.5 times your regular hourly wage for all overtime worked.

When do you don’t have to pay minimum wage?

Under federal law, employers must pay a minimum hourly wage. The current federal minimum wage is set at $7.25 per hour. The main federal law that sets the minimum wage is the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Although the minimum wage is an hourly wage, the law does not require employees to be paid by the hour.

What’s the minimum wage for a non tipped employee?

Businesses with fewer than 501 employees must pay their non-tipped hourly employees at least $13.50 per hour. If the employer doesn’t pay at least $2.25 per hour toward medical benefits or the employee doesn’t make $2.25 per hour in tips, the minimum wage goes up to $15.75.

When do you have to pay employees in Mississippi?

The wages must be paid within ten (10) days of the end of the pay period in which the wages were earned, except for public service corporations which are required to pay employees within fifteen (15) days of the end of the pay period in which the wages were earned.