What are the rules for motions in Utah?
This web page describes the basic procedures for motions generally under Utah Rule of Civil Procedure 7(Motion practice) and Utah Rule of Civil Procedure 101(Motion practice before court commissioners). Review the court rules for a full description of the requirements.
What is the new DUI law in Utah?
(Rick Egan | The Salt Lake Tribune) Rep. Norm Thurston talks about the Utah’s strict new DUI law, which lowers the blood alcohol level from 0.08 to 0.05, which goes into effect, On Dec. 30. Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018.
What are the laws on firing an employee in Utah?
Employers in Utah are required to comply with several employment laws when they decide to terminate one of their employees. For example, employers cannot let an employee go because he or she practices a certain religion or if that person becomes pregnant.
Is it illegal to retaliate against an employee in Utah?
Retaliation: Employment laws in Utah make it illegal for employers to retaliate against an employee when he or she asserts his or her rights as a worker.
How long can a driver’s license be suspended in Utah?
Drivers older than 21 years of age will get a driving license suspension period of 18 months for a first refusal to submit to a BAC test. A second or subsequent refusal will bring them suspended drivers licenses for a period of 36 months.
What does it mean to terminate an employee in Utah?
Utah is an “employment-at-will” state. This means that an employer may generally terminate an employee at any time and for any reason, unless a law or contract provides otherwise. For example, a federal or state law, collective bargaining agreement, or individual employment contract may place limitations on an otherwise at-will relationship.
How long does it take to get your license back in Utah?
Utah Point System. The driving license suspension period for adult drivers may range between three months and one year, depending on their driving records. Drivers younger than 21 years of age will have to appear at a court hearing for accumulating 70 demerit points or more within three years.
How much does it cost to reinstate a drivers license in Utah?
Fees to Reinstate a Utah Drivers License. When reinstating suspended drivers licenses in Utah, motorists must pay the applicable reinstatement fees to the state Driver License Division. The drivers license reinstatement process will require drivers to pay a fee of $30 for any type of offense or $65 for a DUI-related offense.