What are the penalties for noncompliance with Illinois employment law?
The penalties for noncompliance can be steep. Fines for the first violation will be up to $1,000, up to $3,000 for the second violation, and up to $5,000 for all subsequent violations. Matthew Feery is an attorney with Much Shelist in Chicago.
What are the new Illinois employment law amendments?
Proper training, policies, and procedures will become even more important than they already are. The amendments also impose new employer reporting requirements.
Do you have to maintain a safe workplace in Illinois?
Federal and Illinois law require employers to maintain a safe and healthy workplace. As Illinois continues through the Restore Illinois plan and regional mitigation measures, employers and employees 1 are navigating difficult questions about how to maintain a safe and healthy workplace during the COVID-19 pandemic.
What are the new sexual harassment laws in Illinois?
The amended IHRA also includes new sexual-harassment-training requirements that apply to all employers with employees working in the state—not just Illinois-based employers. Under the new requirements, employers must provide sexual-harassment training to all their Illinois employees at least once a year.
What kind of fines can you get in Illinois?
The Illinois Department of Labor enforces this Act and can impose fines ($200 per employee for negligent violations and $500 per employee for knowing violations) and assess attorneys’ fees and costs to companies who fail to abide by these regulations.
Do you have to pay hourly employees in Illinois?
Under the Minimum Wage Law and the Illinois Wage Payment and Collection Act, an employer is obligated to pay an employee for all time worked. For both salaried and hourly employees, if a portion of the week is not completed, the entire salary amount is not due.
Are there privacy laws for employees in Illinois?
Illinois is one of the states that has enacted a number of laws designed to protect the privacy of employee information. And for businesses in Illinois or looking to move to Illinois that wish to avoid fines and other sanctions, it is important to be aware of the protections afforded to employees under these laws.
What’s the minimum wage for an employee in Illinois?
Illinois requires employers to pay a minimum of $11.00 per hour for workers 18 years of age and older; workers under 18 may be paid $.50 per hour less than the adult minimum wage. Overtime must be paid after 40 hour of work per week at time and one-half the regular rate. What is the Wage Payment and Collection Act?