Is it legal to reduce an employees pay?
In general, your employer can reduce your salary for any lawful reason. There is no specific California labor law which prohibits an employer from reducing an employee’s compensation. However, your employer cannot reduce your salary to a rate below the minimum wage.
What’s the minimum wage for an employee in Illinois?
Illinois requires employers to pay a minimum of $11.00 per hour for workers 18 years of age and older; workers under 18 may be paid $.50 per hour less than the adult minimum wage. Overtime must be paid after 40 hour of work per week at time and one-half the regular rate. What is the Wage Payment and Collection Act?
Do you have to pay hourly employees in Illinois?
Under the Minimum Wage Law and the Illinois Wage Payment and Collection Act, an employer is obligated to pay an employee for all time worked. For both salaried and hourly employees, if a portion of the week is not completed, the entire salary amount is not due.
What is the definition of hours worked in Illinois?
Illinois defines hours worked as all time employees are required to be on duty, on the employer’s premises, at another prescribed place of work, and any additional time they are required or permitted to work. It includes meal periods and time spent by employees on-call away from the employer’s premises if such time is spent…
Can a company legally cut your pay or hours?
To be legal, a person’s earnings after the pay cut must also be at least minimum wage. Even with a pay cut, non-exempt employees (hourly wage earners who make less than $455 per week) are generally guaranteed overtime pay.
Being that the Illinois minimum wage is higher than the federal minimum wage, which is set at $7.25 per hour (part of the Fair Labor Standards Act); all employers in Illinois must pay a wage of no less than $8.25 an hour to all employees. That being said, various positions and types of workers may be exempt from Illinois’ minimum wage law.
How much do you get paid per hour in Illinois?
Hourly Minimum Wage Rates by Year. Page Content. New employees (first 90 days of employment) and employees under age 18 may be paid up to 50 cents less per hour. Tipped employees may be paid 60% of the hourly minimum wage. Certain employees must be paid overtime, at time and one-half of the regular rate, after 40 hours of work in a workweek.
What’s the minimum wage for tipped employees in Chicago?
Tipped employees may be paid 60% of the hourly minimum wage. Certain employees must be paid overtime, at time and one-half of the regular rate, after 40 hours of work in a workweek. LOCAL MINIMUM WAGE Chicago: Has a current minimum wage of $13.00 per hour with an anticipated increase in July 2020 to 14.00. Tipped minimum wage is currently 6.40.
What are the labor laws in the state of Illinois?