Is getting paid overtime a law?

Is getting paid overtime a law?

An employer can request that an employee works reasonable overtime. Overtime can be reasonable so long as the following things are taken into account: if they are paid at a higher rate on the understanding that they work some overtime. if the employee was given enough notice that they may have to work overtime.

When does an employer have to pay overtime?

An employer who requires or permits an employee to work overtime is generally required to pay the employee premium pay for such overtime work. Unless specifically exempted, employees covered by the Act must receive overtime pay for hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek at a rate not less than time and one-half their regular rates of pay.

What are the new overtime rules for exempt employees?

The new rules require that exempt employees who are paid less than $684 a week be eligible for overtime. Check your pay records to be sure you are complying with this new requirement. The U.S. Department of Labor has issued new regulations for pay for exempt employees that will make more employees eligible for overtime.

What are the requirements for overtime under the FLSA?

Unless specifically exempted, employees covered by the Act must receive overtime pay for hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek at a rate not less than time and one-half their regular rates of pay. There is no limit in the Act on the number of hours employees aged 16 and older may work in any workweek.

Can a company refuse to pay an employee overtime?

However, an employee cannot refuse to work overtime if the work which is required to be done must be done without delay owing to circumstances for which the employer could not reasonably have been expected to make provision, such as the sudden breakdown of equipment, and which cannot be performed by employees during the ordinary hours of work.

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) was implemented in 1938 to set forth a minimum wage rate and establish wage rules for employees, particularly those under the age of 18. When employees work over 40 hours a week, they are entitled to overtime pay, which is equivalent to time and a half.

The new rules require that exempt employees who are paid less than $684 a week be eligible for overtime. Check your pay records to be sure you are complying with this new requirement. The U.S. Department of Labor has issued new regulations for pay for exempt employees that will make more employees eligible for overtime.

How much do you get paid for overtime in Illinois?

If you earn more then the Illinois minimum wage rate, you are entitled to at least 1.5 times your regular hourly wage for all overtime worked. You are entitled overtime pay of time and one half of your regular rate of pay if you worked over 40 hours in a workweek. This will be $12.38 per hour if you make minimum wage.

Unless specifically exempted, employees covered by the Act must receive overtime pay for hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek at a rate not less than time and one-half their regular rates of pay. There is no limit in the Act on the number of hours employees aged 16 and older may work in any workweek.