How do I verify a Nursing license in Colorado?

How do I verify a Nursing license in Colorado?

The simplest way to verify a nurse license is with the official State of Colorado board of nursing license lookup. Enter your personal information into the search box on the State of Colorado Board of Nursing website and search the results to find your information, which will include your license number.

How do I endorse my Nursing license to Colorado?

The Process

  1. Complete an application for Licensure by Endorsement online.
  2. Pay the associated fees.
  3. Provide a valid United States Social Security Number.
  4. Verification of original state of licensure.
  5. Verification of all other licenses.
  6. Complete the Affidavit of Eligibility.
  7. Fingerprint and Complete Background Check.

How many licensed nurses are there in Colorado?

Colorado nurses are licensed by the Department of Regulatory Agency’s Board of Nursing (www.dora.colorado.gov/professions/nursing). There are currently 64,057 RNs with active licenses and 8,557 PNs.

Is Colorado a RN compact state?

On January 18, 2018, Governor John Hickenlooper signed Senate Bill 18-027 Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact. The law placed Colorado into the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). Under the NLC, nurses are able to provide care to patients in other NLC states, without having to obtain additional licenses.

What does Dora stand for in Colorado?

Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies.

How many continuing education hours do nurses need in Colorado?

Registered Nurse and Licensed Practical Nurse CE Requirements by State

State RNs LPNs
CALIFORNIA 30 contact hours every two years. 30 contact hours every two years.
COLORADO No CE Required. No CE Required.
CONNECTICUT No CE Required. No CE Required.
DC 24 contact hours every 2 years. No CE Required.

How much is a nursing license in Colorado?

$88 Application Fee. $200 Examination Fee. $43 Endorsement Fee [if applicable]

Is there a nurse shortage in Colorado?

The nursing shortage in Colorado is twice the national average or approximately 11%. This rate is projected to grow to 31% by 2020 if Colorado does not address nurse work- force issues. In 2009, there were 61,000 licensed nurses in Colorado and 59% were employed by hospitals.

How much is a Colorado nursing license?

How long does it take to get a Colorado nursing license?

Breakdown of Time-Frame to Obtain Nursing License by State

State eNLC? Time Frame for License
California No Temp: 8-10 weeks Perm: 10-12 weeks
Colorado Yes Temp: 4-5 weeks Perm: 6 weeks
Connecticut No Temp: 2-3 weeks Perm: 5-7 business days once all documents received
Delaware Yes Temp: 4-6 weeks Perm: 4-6 weeks

Where can I get a RN license in Colorado?

Nicole holds an active RN license in her primary state of Colorado. However, she lives near the four corners, (Utah, Arizona, New Mexico, and Colorado), and all those states participate in the NLC. Therefore, Nicole can drive across the borders to practice or practice electronically without any additional fees or applications.

When does a registered nurse license expire in Colorado?

Endorsement: Individuals licensed as a registered nurse in another state may apply for licensure through endorsement, subject to board approval. Learn more on how to become a registered nurse. Renewal: Licensed practical nurse license expires on August 31 of even-numbered years.

Can a LPN work in Colorado without a license?

An LPN working in Colorado under a license from another compact state must also apply to the Colorado Board if the candidate wants/ needs IV authority. Nurses with licenses in non-compact states like Wyoming, Kansas, and Oklahoma aren’t authorized to work in Colorado without getting a new license.

Is there a nursing school in Colorado Springs?

University of Colorado – Colorado Springs is located in Colorado Springs, Colorado. The Beth-El College of Nursing offers a traditional BSN program, an RN to BSN option and an Allied Health Completion Program, which allows those who hold a degree in an Allied Health to enroll for a BSN degree.

How do you apply for a Colorado nursing license?

To apply for your Colorado nursing license via examination, you must be a graduate of an approved nursing education program. In addition, you must pass the NCLEX exam. The state of Colorado has a mandatory practice acts, which states that RNs cannot practice in the state without a Colorado nursing license…

How do I Find my RN license number?

Look for the 6-8 digit number. Where the number is located varies on the state. The number is typically under or next to the words “License,” “License No.” or “ID Number.” Some states, such as Florida and Massachusetts, will include the preface “RN” before the number.

How do I look up my nursing license?

Searching for Your License Online Visit the website for your state’s board of nursing. Each board of nursing in the U.S. maintains a public database of nurses and other health professionals. Click on the link for license verification. Every state has a free online database to look up nursing licenses.

What is a nursing license?

A nursing license is a credential granted by an individual state. Most states require that healthcare practitioners with direct patient contact be licensed. Each individual state has the sole authority to license health care practitioners in their jurisdiction. A license confers a legal property right to the holder.