How do I start the divorce process in Florida?

How do I start the divorce process in Florida?

Here are the steps to get a divorce (dissolution of marriage) in Florida:

  1. Step 1: Filing the Petition.
  2. Step 2: Answering the Petition.
  3. Step 3: Gathering Additional Information: The Divorce Discovery Process.
  4. Step 4: Mediation: Negotiating the Terms of the Divorce.
  5. Step 5: Agreeing on a Parenting Plan.

How do I get a quickie divorce in Florida?

Florida divorce law provides a process called a ‘Simplified Dissolution of Marriage. ‘ Couples can use this to get a quick divorce, about 30 days from filing to finalization, as long as they have complete agreement on the terms of the divorce and it’s uncontested.

What does it take to get a divorce in Florida?

Florida is a “no-fault” state, meaning that the person filing for divorce does not need to prove any specific reason for the divorce. They only need to cite that the marriage is “irretrievable broken” with no hope of getting back together.

How is a dissolution of marriage certified in Florida?

DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE REPORT GRANTED IN FLORIDA CERTIFICATION: A certification of a Dissolution of Marriage Report (Divorce or Annulment) from June 1927 to present that has been recorded by the Clerk of Court. This certification is accepted by all State and Federal Agencies and used as evidence that a divorce was finalized and recorded.

How to file for an uncontested divorce in Florida?

An uncontested divorce requires that both parties sign a written agreement stipulating terms of property division, alimony and child support. This expedited process requires only a final hearing in court to finalize the divorce. If your spouse fails to provide an Answer within 20 days, you may file a Motion for Default.

Where can I find Florida Department of Health Divorce forms?

For dissolutions that occurred outside of the United States, visit the National Center for Health Statistics website at www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w/foreign.htm Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity.

How to file for divorce in the state of Florida?

The state of Florida has certain requirements to file a dissolution of marriage, especially when children are involved. Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course (Online Class) — Required for parents filing for divorce in Florida.

Is there a waiting period for a divorce in Florida?

After a dissolution of marriage has been initiated, there is a 20-day waiting period that a couple must go through before a case may be heard and a Judge of the Circuit Court signs a Final Judgment of Dissolution of Marriage. This is a best-case scenario in an uncontested divorce.

Can you get a divorce in Duval County FL?

The Florida Department of Children and Families approved this course. Regardless of this statewide approval, this online course is not currently accepted for divorces in Duval County. You may take this course if you are a resident of Florida or if you are an out-of-state resident getting your divorce in Florida.

Can you get a no fault divorce in Florida?

Florida is a no-fault divorce state, which means you don’t have to show that your spouse engaged in bad behavior (such as adultery) in order to get a divorce. Either spouse can file for a no-fault divorce by stating that the marriage is “irretrievably broken.”