How are workers rights protected in Washington State?
Workers are protected by laws and rules covering workers’ wages, working conditions, overtime pay, and prevailing wage on public works construction projects. Washington State does not require employers to provide leave or pay for holidays, vacations, or bereavement.
Can a company retaliate against an employee in Washington State?
While Washington is an at-will employment state, employers cannot fire or retaliate against an employee who exercises a protected right or files a complaint under certain employment laws. State law gives employees protection in the following areas:
Can a person be fired in Washington State?
In Washington State, most employees are hired at-will. Your employer can terminate you any time, for any reason. Some employees have individual written or implied employment agreements. Union workers may have collective bargaining agreements. Public employees may be protected by state laws, local laws, or regulations.
What are the legal rights of an employee?
State law gives employees protection in the following areas: Minimum Wage Act, including overtime, paid sick leave, and tips and service charges. Injured worker’s claims. Safety complaints. Discrimination in the workplace including sexual harassment and protected classes. Protected leave.
What are the employment laws for Washington State?
The state of Washington has its own set of state employment laws. For instance, the current minimum wage is $9.32 per hour. Like most states, overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week in the Evergreen State. There are also weekly payday requirements for manual workers.
What are the labor laws in Washington State?
Washington labor laws require an employer to pay overtime to employees, unless otherwise exempt, at the rate of 1½ times the employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek. WA Dept. of Labor: Understanding Overtime.
What is the minimum wage in Washington State?
- 13.50 per hour.
- Washington State Minimum Wage: Soaring Above the Federal Rate.
- Washington Minimum Wage Increase News.
What are the overtime laws for Washington State?
Washington’s Existing Overtime Rule. Under the Fair Labor Standards Act and the Washington Minimum Wage Act, employers are required to pay overtime of 1.5 times an employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours worked beyond 40 during a workweek, unless the employee falls into an enumerated exemption.
How many hours do you have to work in Washington State?
Agricultural employers. Washington labor laws require agricultural employer to provide employees an unpaid meal period of at least 30 minutes when they are employed more than five (5) hours in a shift. Employers must provide employees who work eleven or more hours in a day at least one (1) additional 30-minute meal.
What are the 5 basic rights of Washington State?
5 basic rights in Washington 1 You have the right to be paid 2 You have the right to take care of yourself & your family 3 You have the right to be free of discrimination 4 You have the right to be safe at work 5 You have the right to organize More …
What are the overtime laws in Washington State?
Washington labor laws require an employer to pay overtime to employees, unless otherwise exempt, at the rate of 1½ times the employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek. WA Dept. of Labor: Understanding Overtime. See FLSA: Overtime for more information regarding overtime requirements.
What are the pros and cons of right to work?
The pros and cons of right to work laws do offer a unique foreign direct investment benefit when an organization wants to avoid high labor costs. If a union cannot compel workers to a specific action, then it does not have the power to demand a strike.
What are the laws in Washington State?
The state of Washington in the United States has laws regulating the sale, possession, and use of firearms and ammunition. The Constitution of Washington protects an individual’s right to bear arms.