Social Media

Do you expect employees to be late for work?

Do you expect employees to be late for work?

As an employer, you expect staff members to be late every now and then. However, managers and employers cannot accept a situation where an employee is continually late for work, simply because this acceptance will only compound the situation and make it worse.

How to deal with an employee who is habitually late?

Predicable work schedules should be set well in advance so that employees can prepare accordingly. It is important to have appropriate documentation for violations of workplace rules that might lead to an employee being disciplined. When an employee arrives to work late, that arrival should be recorded by the supervisor on duty.

Can a company retaliate against an employee for being late?

Warning: It is important to remember that employees should not be disciplined or retaliated against if the reason for their lateness is legally protected. For example, arriving later than other employees because of an accommodation protected under the Americans with Disabilities Act.

What happens if you’re not paid by the hour?

If you’re paid by the hour, your pay will probably reduce because you’re working fewer hours. If you aren’t paid by the hour, your employer might be able to reduce your pay.

Can a company penalize you for being late to work?

It’s against the Fair Labor Standards Act for an employer to make unlawful deductions — such as docking a salaried worker’s pay — in cases where the employee has worked any portion of the day. Even if you don’t make it in until a couple of hours after the business day starts, your employer cannot penalize you by reducing your pay.

What are the waiting time penalties for late wage pay in California?

California employers must pay wages immediately to employees who get terminated or who resign with 72-hours notice. Otherwise, employers are liable to pay a waiting time penalty equal to the employee’s daily rate of pay for each day late up to 30 days.

What’s the penalty for working more than ten hours in California?

An employee who works more than ten hours is entitled to a second unpaid 30-minute meal break. Under California law, employers owe a penalty of one hour of pay at the employee’s regular rate for every workday in which a meal break is not provided. The same rule applies to rest breaks.

What happens if I’m 10 minutes late to work?

Punching the time clock a few minutes late every day or even every few days can affect your earnings, regardless of how many minutes your employer gives as a grace period. Too much tardiness can result in losing 10 minutes here, 15 minutes there.