Can California employers ask about salary expectations?

Can California employers ask about salary expectations?

In California, Hawaii, and New Jersey, an employer can consider voluntarily disclosed salary history information in determining a salary for the applicant, but not in making a hiring decision. Illinois, on the other hand, forbids employers from considering even voluntarily disclosed salary history information.

Can interviewers ask your current salary in California?

Employers in California cannot ask job applicants about their salary history. If an applicant asks, employers have to provide a salary range for the position.

When does minimum wage go up in California?

The current minimum wage rate is re-evaluated yearly based on these values. The current minimum wage of $13.00 per hour is effective from January 2020 for employers in California with 26 or more employees. Employers with 25 or fewer employees have a minimum wage of $12.00 per hour.

How does the California wage and hour law work?

California law provides protections for workers’ wages and hours. Many employers, however, violate those protections. In some cases, the violations are unintentional; the employer might simply be unaware of their legal duties. In other cases, employers intentionally violate the law to avoid paying their employees more money.

Is it illegal to ask about salary history in California?

As of Jan. 1, California employers are required to comply with California Labor Code Section 432.3, which prohibits employers from asking job applicants about their salary histories.

What’s the minimum wage for a college student in California?

California Student Minimum Wage – $11.05 – Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the California minimum wage (as little as $11.05 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).

How are prevailing wage rates determined in California?

All bidders are required to use the same wage rates when bidding on a public works project. California law requires that not less than the general prevailing rate of per diem wages be paid to all workers employed on a public works project.

When do you have to pay minimum wage in California?

Although there are some exceptions, almost all employees in California must be paid the minimum wage as required by state law. Effective January 1, 2017, the minimum wage for all industries will be increased yearly.

As of Jan. 1, California employers are required to comply with California Labor Code Section 432.3, which prohibits employers from asking job applicants about their salary histories.

Is the California Department of industrial relations monitoring minimum wage?

The Department of Industrial Relations does not monitor or verify this list but includes it here as a reference for the public: UC Berkeley Labor Center Inventory of US City and County Minimum Wage Ordinances