Who is exempt from overtime pay in Colorado?

Who is exempt from overtime pay in Colorado?

Exempt vs. Non-Exempt Employees. Although the vast majority of Colorado hourly and salaried employees are entitled to both the minimum wage and “time and one-half” overtime pay, certain types of employees are exempt from overtime, the minimum wage or both.

What’s the difference between exempt and nonexempt employees?

The differences between nonexempt and exempt employees have been established by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). The FLSA sets basic minimum wage and overtime pay standards and regulates the employment of minors. The FLSA does not regulate vacation, holiday, severance, sick pay, holidays off, or holiday pay among other things.

What makes an exempt employee of the Department of Labor?

A highly compensated employee (HCE) is considered exempt by the Department of Labor if: “the employee has a total annual compensation of $107,432, including at least $684 a week (effective January 1, 2020), paid on a salary or fee basis; The employee’s primary duty includes performing office or non-manual work; and

What kind of work is covered by an exemption?

Generally, the type of work covered by the exemption is “back office” work as opposed to the actual work producing or providing the business’ product or service. The administrative exemption is designed for relatively high-level employees whose main job is to “keep the business running.”

Who is exempt from the comps order in Colorado?

If the employee doesn’t meet the criteria, the employee is non-exempt and is entitled to all of the protections of the COMPS Order, including overtime, rest, and meal periods. Colorado Division of Labor Standards and Statistics | 303-318-8441 | Contact Us

Exempt vs. Non-Exempt Employees. Although the vast majority of Colorado hourly and salaried employees are entitled to both the minimum wage and “time and one-half” overtime pay, certain types of employees are exempt from overtime, the minimum wage or both.

Is there a minimum wage for executive employees in Colorado?

The state law does not set a minimum amount for a salary (federal law does – $455*/week); however it does state that executive employees must receive at least minimum wage for all hours worked. This could result in a higher salary requirement than federal law.

Is the IRS an employee or an independent contractor?

Am I an Employee?: Employment Relationship Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) (Fact Sheet #13) IRS Independent Contractor or Employee?

If the employee doesn’t meet the criteria, the employee is non-exempt and is entitled to all of the protections of the COMPS Order, including overtime, rest, and meal periods. Colorado Division of Labor Standards and Statistics | 303-318-8441 | Contact Us

What are the new employment laws in Colorado?

Colorado law also prohibited pay discrimination under a bare bones statute giving a nod to the language of the federal Equal Pay Act.

The state law does not set a minimum amount for a salary (federal law does – $455*/week); however it does state that executive employees must receive at least minimum wage for all hours worked. This could result in a higher salary requirement than federal law.

When to apply for a nonmedical exemption in Colorado?

Beginning in the 2021-2022 school year (7/1/2021), the process of submitting a nonmedical exemption will change. There will be two ways to submit a nonmedical exemption.

Colorado law also prohibited pay discrimination under a bare bones statute giving a nod to the language of the federal Equal Pay Act.