When did New York state minimum wage go up?
As of December 31, 2016, the first in a series of wage increases went into effect. Rates differ based on region and industry because the increases are calibrated to provide businesses ample time to adjust. * Annual increases for the rest of the state will continue until the rate reaches $15 minimum wage (and $10 tipped wage).
What does New York State Department of Labor do?
Governor Cuomo enacted a law that provides benefits – including sick leave, paid family leave, and disability benefits – to New York employees impacted by the mandatory or precautionary orders of quarantine or isolation due to COVID-19. If your employer does not comply with this law, you have the right to file a complaint.
When to file a complaint with the NYS Commissioner of Labor?
If your employer does not comply with this law, you have the right to file a complaint. On March 25, 2021 Governor Cuomo signed the Healthy Terminals Act which now establishes specific standards of wage rates for covered airport workers in New York state. Formal orders issued by the NYS Commissioner of Labor.
Who is eligible for New York State paid family leave?
Union-represented public employees may be covered if the benefit has been negotiated through collective bargaining. Self-employed individuals – whether a sole proprietor or independent contractor – can take advantage of New York Paid Family Leave by voluntarily opting in.
When do you become an employee in New York?
At the end of the transition period, you must be offered continued employment if the new employer considers your performance to be satisfactory. If you are a construction worker in New York State, you are generally considered to be an employee protected by workplace laws.
How many hours of paid leave do you have to have in New York?
Employers with 100 or more employees in New York State must provide up to 56 hours of paid leave. Employers with four or fewer employees in New York State and a net income of $1 million or more must provide PAID leave. Reminder: Employers with 5 to 99 employees in New York State must provide up to 40 hours of paid leave each calendar year.
Where can I find New York state government payrolls?
The Payrolls section provides a database of names, positions, salaries and/or total earnings for individuals who have been employed by New York State, New York City, state and regional public authorities, public school districts, and New York’s county, city, town and village governments. STATE GOVERNMENT EXECUTIVE, JUDICIAL LEGISLATIVE TOWNS
Are there special rates for tipped workers in New York?
There are special rates for tipped workers. If you work more than 40 hours in a week, your employer must pay at least 1.5 times your regular rate of pay for hours worked over 40. The law prohibits discrimination in any decisions that affect the terms and conditions of employment.