What happens if your pay stub is incorrect in California?

What happens if your pay stub is incorrect in California?

If a wage statement does not include this information, no pay stub is provided, or the pay stub information is incorrect, the employer may be in violation of California labor laws. 3 “Exempt employees” are employees who are exempt from California’s wage and hour laws.

What do you need to know about the California paystub law?

A paystub is a breakdown of an employee’s earnings in a pay period. Although federal labor law does not require employers to provide pay stubs to employees, California paystub law requires employers give an “itemized wage statement” or paystub for each pay period (a standard pay period is 2 weeks). What if your employer refuses to give pay stubs?

Do you have to provide a pay stub to an employer?

Even if an employer isn’t required to provide employees with pay stubs, should an employee request access, it’s good practice to allow them to review their records. The following states do not require employers to provide a statement that details an employee’s pay information.

What happens if an employer refuses to give an employee a paystub?

Penalties for Not Giving Paystubs. In California, an employer that refuses to give paystubs to an employee may incur a civil penalty of $50 for the first pay period in which no paystub was provided, and $100 in each pay period after that, up to a maximum of $4,000 per employee.

What happens if you get a pay stub in California?

California labor statutes give employees a cause of action against their employers for pay stub violations, providing for penalties, attorney’s fees, and court costs. However, the law also allows employers to correct some errors to avoid penalties. 13

Penalties for Not Giving Paystubs. In California, an employer that refuses to give paystubs to an employee may incur a civil penalty of $50 for the first pay period in which no paystub was provided, and $100 in each pay period after that, up to a maximum of $4,000 per employee.

What are the requirements for a wage stub?

The employer’s name and address must be listed on the pay stub. If the employer is a farm labor contractor,⁠ 8 the wage statement must also provide the name and address of the legal entity that secured the services of the employer. There are several caveats to these rules, and certain employees are subject to additional requirements.

What happens if your pay stub does not show total hours worked?

If an employee’s pay stub does not include total hours worked, the employer may be in violation of California wage statement laws. 8 However, employees who are exempt from overtime and minimum wage laws may be exempt from the requirement that their pay stub show “total hours worked.”