What can a previous employer disclose in Illinois?
Yes. In general, under Illinois law an employer can give out negative information about you in a job reference. This is as long as the information they give out is truthful and related to your job performance.
What is considered a full time employee in Illinois?
“Full-time employee” means an individual who is employed for a basic wage for at least 35 hours each week or who renders any other standard of service generally accepted by industry custom or practice as full-time employment.
What are the requirements for employers in Illinois?
Employers are required to follow the Governor’s Executive Orders. The Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) and Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO) have also published guidelines and requirements for employers to follow in order to maintain a safe workplace during the pandemic. All employers are required to:
Do you have to show up for work in Illinois?
Show up or reporting time. Illinois law does not require employers to pay employees for reporting or showing up to work if no work is performed. An employer is also not required to pay an employee a minimum number of hours if the employer dismisses the employee from work prior to completing their scheduled shift.
What are the labor laws for salaried employees in Illinois?
Learn More →. Illinois labor laws regulate how salaried employees must be paid, whether they are entitled to overtime, hours they can work, and deductions that can be made from their paychecks. In addition, employers must adhere to state law when providing lunch breaks and time off from work.
Do you have to maintain a safe workplace in Illinois?
Federal and Illinois law require employers to maintain a safe and healthy workplace. As Illinois continues through the Restore Illinois plan and regional mitigation measures, employers and employees 1 are navigating difficult questions about how to maintain a safe and healthy workplace during the COVID-19 pandemic.
How to apply for a job in Illinois?
Questions about the State of Illinois’ employment process should be directed to the Illinois Department of Central Management Services’ Division of Examination and Counseling at (217) 782-7100 between the hours of 8:30 am – 5:00 pm Monday-Friday. We wish you success in your search for employment. Job Opportunities Application Procedures
How many hours do you have to give employees in Illinois?
Illinois labor laws require employers to give each employee at least 24 hours of rest in every calendar week. 820 ILCS 140/2; IL Dept. of Labor FAQs.
How long do you have to work in Illinois if you are under 16?
For Illinois employees under the age of 16, employers must provide a meal (lunch) period of at least 30 minutes if the employee is scheduled to work more than 5 consecutive hours. 820 ILCS 205/4. Information about Illinois vacation leave laws may now be found on our Illinois Leave Laws page.
How does CMS work in the state of Illinois?
Please keep in mind that CMS administers examinations and assists in the grading process, but final employment decisions are ultimately made by the individual hiring agency. The state of Illinois offers other resources to assist you in your search for employment.