Social Media

What age can a child pick which parent to live with in Oregon?

What age can a child pick which parent to live with in Oregon?

18
In both Washington and Oregon, a child can only choose which parent they’d like to live with when they turn 18 or are otherwise emancipated. Minor children are not considered capable of making such decisions for themselves and are not permitted to “choose” living with one parent over another.

What age can a child refuse visitation in Oregon?

When the child turns 18, the court no longer has the jurisdiction (power) to require custody or visitation with either parent. If the custodial parent withholds or fails to send a child for visitation, the other parent can ask the court to enforce the orders.

Can a judge give a parent joint custody in Oregon?

Joint custody does not mean that a child lives with each parent half the time. In fact, parents may have joint custody even when a child lives exclusively with one parent. A judge cannot award joint custody in Oregon unless both parents agree to it. Joint custody does not do away with a parent’s child support obligation.

What does sole custody of a child mean in Oregon?

Sole custody in Oregon means that the custodial parent makes all major decisions regarding the child. A judge’s primary consideration in deciding how to award custody is the best interest of the child.

Can a parent be uncooperative in an Oregon custody case?

Under Oregon law, a parent is not required to cooperate with a parent who has committed acts of violence against him or her or the child in the case, and a parent who has taken steps to keep the child safe from domestic violence on behalf of the other parent is not considered uncooperative.

When to make a child custody modification in Oregon?

When one parent wishes to make a modification to a Oregon child custody agreement, that parent carries the burden of proof as to why the modification is needed and how the change will benefit the child.

Joint custody does not mean that a child lives with each parent half the time. In fact, parents may have joint custody even when a child lives exclusively with one parent. A judge cannot award joint custody in Oregon unless both parents agree to it. Joint custody does not do away with a parent’s child support obligation.

Who is the custodial parent in Oregon child support?

Physical custody refers to which parent the child lives with. The parent who has physical custody of the child is referred to as the custodial parent. The other parent is the non-custodial parent. 6. The Basics of Oregon Child Support The court can order the non-custodial parent to pay the custodial parent child support.

Can a custodial parent move out of State in Oregon?

In Oregon, a custodial parent may usually relocate up to 60 miles from the other parent without notifying the noncustodial parent prior to the move. If the custodial parent plans to move 60 miles away from the noncustodial parent or outside of Oregon, the custodial parent must notify both the other parent and the court prior to relocating.

When to file for custody or parenting time in Oregon?

You must provide certain information before an Oregon court can decide custody or parenting time. UCCJEA (ORS 109.701-109.834) If you have any other orders or judgments about custody or parenting time from other states, or if any of your children have not lived in Oregon for six months before you file, you should see a lawyer.