Is there a minimum number of hours you have to work in Hawaii?

Is there a minimum number of hours you have to work in Hawaii?

There is no State law that requires a minimum number of hours in which an employer must provide an employee between their daily 8 hour work shifts. You may contact the nearest office of the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, for information on federal laws. The Hawaii office can be reached at (808) 541-1361.

Do you have to work on holidays in Hawaii?

In Hawaii, a private employer can require an employee to work holidays. A private employer does not have to pay an employee premium pay, such as 1½ times the regular rate, for working on holidays, unless such time worked qualifies the employee for overtime under standard overtime laws.

What are the child labor laws in Hawaii?

In Hawaii, the only requirement for breaks is found in Chapter 390, Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS), Child Labor Law, which requires employers to provide at least a thirty minute rest or meal period after five consecutive hours of work for fourteen- and fifteen-year-old minors.

What does it mean to terminate employment in Hawaii?

Hawaii is an “employment-at-will” state, which means that either the employer or the employee may end the employment relationship without giving either notice or a reason.

What is the legal age to work in Hawaii with a work permit?

In Hawaii, the minimum working age is 14. Under the Hawaiian Child Labor Law, a child labor certificate or “work permit” is required for minors to begin working until they reach the age of 18. There are two different types of certificates and which one is needed is based on the age of the minor.

What are the overtime laws in Hawaii?

Hawaii Overtime Pay Laws. Overtime is required to be paid at a rate not less than one and one-half times the regular rate at which the employee is employed. In Hawaii, eligible employees must receive overtime if they work more than 40 hours in a week.

How to get work permit in Hawaii?

  • Minimum Working Age in Hawaii. The state of Hawaii consists of eight main islands and is the only state where the land mass is increasing (due to continuous volcanic eruptions).
  • Applying For a Work Permit in Hawaii.
  • Transferring Work Permits in Hawaii.
  • Employer Responsibility With Work Permits in Hawaii.

    What are some employment laws?

    Many employment laws (such as minimum wage regulations) were enacted as protective labor legislation. Other employment laws take the form of public benefits, such as unemployment compensation. Some major areas of employment law include employment discrimination, unemployment compensation, and pensions.

    Where is the wage and Hour Division in Hawaii?

    You may contact the nearest office of the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, for information on federal laws. The Hawaii office can be reached at (808) 541-1361.

    When do you get paid overtime in Hawaii?

    Overtime is paid when an employee works more than 40 hours in a workweek. Hours worked in excess of 8 hours a day is not considered overtime, except when work is performed on a State or county public works construction project.

    How many hours per week can you work as a salaried employee?

    It is not uncommon to see employment contracts with as few as 30 hours per week or as many as 50 depending on the position. Be sure to defer to your state’s Department of Labor, as states have their own rules regarding the maximum hourly limit for salaried employees.

    There is no State law that requires a minimum number of hours in which an employer must provide an employee between their daily 8 hour work shifts. You may contact the nearest office of the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, for information on federal laws. The Hawaii office can be reached at (808) 541-1361.

    Overtime is paid when an employee works more than 40 hours in a workweek. Hours worked in excess of 8 hours a day is not considered overtime, except when work is performed on a State or county public works construction project.

    How to calculate public employee pay in Hawaii?

    Use our searchable database of publicly available salary information for public employees in Hawaii to review and compare pay levels: *Please note that employees designated as “hourly” are paid by the hour for actual time worked. To calculate their hourly rate, divide the annual salary by 2080 (40 hrs/wk x 52 wks/year).

    You may contact the nearest office of the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, for information on federal laws. The Hawaii office can be reached at (808) 541-1361.