How to file a civil rights claim in Texas?

How to file a civil rights claim in Texas?

If you were a victim of police brutality, falsely arrested, or harmed by other misconduct, you may be able to file suit and obtain compensation for your injuries. Discuss your case with a Texas civil rights lawyer near you who will help defend your legal rights.

How does the Texas Civil Rights Division work?

The Civil Rights Division conducts neutral investigations and gathers information to determine if discrimination has occurred under the Texas Labor Code. We work in cooperation with the federal Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) to resolve employment discrimination allegations.

How to file a claim for unclaimed property in Texas?

ClaimItTexas.org remains online to file claims, submit documentation, request property searches, and file unclaimed property reports. Additionally, our staff is available to answer questions by calling 1-800-321-2274, Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

When to file a claim under the Texas Tort Claims Act?

The Texas Tort Claims Act provides only a brief window for asserting claims, sometimes as little as 45 days, so it’s important to act quickly. Under a doctrine known as qualified immunity, law enforcement officers are shielded from liability for causing injuries or harm unless they violate someone’s clearly established rights.

If you were a victim of police brutality, falsely arrested, or harmed by other misconduct, you may be able to file suit and obtain compensation for your injuries. Discuss your case with a Texas civil rights lawyer near you who will help defend your legal rights.

When to file a claim against the government in Texas?

Time Limits for Filing Claims Against the Government In Texas. Section 101.101 of the Texas Tort Claims Act states that notice of a claim must be filed with the appropriate government unit within six months of the date of the accident. The notice must include a description of the injury or damage, the time and place the incident occurred,…

Where to file a small claims case in Texas?

Small claims are cases filed in the justice court system (also referred to as justice of the peace courts) in Texas. Justice courts provide a more informal setting than the district or county courts, so parties will often represent themselves rather than hiring an attorney.

How much can you sue the state of Texas for?

In addition, the damages that can be recovered in a claim against the state government are limited. The Texas Tort Claims Act limits damages in these claims to no more than $250,000 per person and $500,000 per occurrence for bodily injury, and $100,000 per occurrence for damaged property.