Modern Tools

How much will I pay in child support in Florida?

How much will I pay in child support in Florida?

Both parents contribute child support payments, according to their incomes. For instance, for income over $10,000, the guidelines stipulate the lowest amount based on the following percentages: One child – 5%, two children – 7.5%, 3 children -9.5%, four children – 11%, five children -12% and 6 children up to 12.5%.

How do I find out how much child support I owe in Florida?

You can check on payments by using the following options:

  1. Florida State Disbursement Unit Customer Service, 1-877-769-0251.
  2. Child Support eServices, if you have a case with us.
  3. Clerks of Court website at

Who is not included in Florida child support calculator?

Significant others, and new spouses are not normally included in the definition of income. The income you use for the Florida child support calculator includes pretty much everything, but a comprehensive list is offered by the Florida statutes.

How to find Florida child support eServices website?

The Florida Child Support Program eServices website has launched a new look to make it easier for you to find information on your child support case and easier to access the website from your tablet or mobile device. The features offered through the website are the same, but the navigation has changed. Watch this two-minute video to learn more.

Why do you have to pay child support in Florida?

Florida’s child support guidelines were created to make sure the children experience the same level of comfort and care you were able to provide before getting a divorce. If the parents were not previously married, child support in Florida is calculated to allow the same level of financial support as if they lived in a two-parent household.

How is the amount of child support calculated?

The estimated child support due each month is calculated using the gross monthly income of both parents. The amount they must pay is usually based on the percentage of total income contributed. The amount of child support, and how much each parent will be obligated to pay, can vary based on several factors.

How much child support in Florida?

Child support guidelines may grant the basis for proving a modification where circumstances have changed. The basic child support amount for a single child in Florida is $74 where the supporting parent earns a minimum wage/salary of $650.

How is child support calculated in Florida?

Child support in the State of Florida is calculated by using the income of both parents as well as calculating the time spent with the non-custodial parent less any deductions allowed by the courts. There are other considerations the courts can make, but generally speaking, child support is calculated on a percentage of income basis.

What is the Statute of limitations for child support in Florida?

In the state of Florida, this requirement goes on forever. There is no child support statute of limitations, and even after the child turns 18, all back child support payments are still a debt that must be paid.

How much does child support cost?

According to the Census Bureau Reports, the average monthly child support payment is $430. But again, this is just an average, and shouldn’t be used as a guideline to understand how much you will be paying, or should pay, in child support.