How much does it cost to get divorce in Arkansas?
How Much Does it Cost to File for Divorce in Arkansas? You’ll need to pay a filing fee of approximately $165 when you file a petition for divorce in Arkansas, although fees may vary from county to county. You should check with your local court for the most up-to-date information.
What is the divorce process in Arkansas?
While divorce laws vary by state, here are the basic steps: First, you must meet the residency requirements of the state in which you wish to file. Second, you must have “grounds” (a legally acceptable reason) to end your marriage. Third, you must file divorce papers and have copies sent to your spouse.
How to get a divorce in the state of Arkansas?
Arkansas is a fault state for divorce. This means you will have to show that your spouse did something to you in order to get a divorce. The only way to get a divorce from your spouse without showing fault is to live separate and apart from your spouse for at least 18 continuous months. Your spouse can contest or object to you getting a divorce.
How are debts divided in a divorce in Arkansas?
For example, if a spouse receives a cash gift and deposits it into a joint bank account where both spouses have access, it may very well become a marital asset. Debts in Arkansas are treated just like assets in a divorce. This means they will be divided fairly and equitably, but not necessarily on a 50/50 basis.
Can a military spouse get a divorce in Arkansas?
You and your spouse do not own expensive property. You have lived in Arkansas for the past 60 days. Your spouse is not in the military and therefore protected by the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act of 2003. If all of the above statements are true, then you may qualify to use this free divorce form packet below.
What are the fault grounds for divorce in Arkansas?
In a “fault divorce,” you allege that your spouse did something that led to the divorce – in other words, your spouse is at “fault” for the breakup of the marriage. Arkansas recognizes the following fault grounds: impotence. a felony conviction. alcohol abuse for at least one year. cruel treatment that endangers the other spouse’s life.
What are the reasons for divorce in Arkansas?
Most of the valid reasons for divorces in Arkansas include betrayal in relationship, not fulfilling the demands of other spouse, humiliation and abuses.These reasons also include violence, mental illness of either of the spouse, drunkenness for a long time period, and conviction to a felony.
What are the divorce laws in Arkansas?
Arkansas Divorce Laws at a Glance. Under Arkansas statute, no-fault divorce is granted only when the parties have lived “separate and apart” (no cohabitation) for 18 continuous months. A legal separation is not necessary for meeting this requirement.
Arkansas has a 540-day standard processing time for divorce, and a couple needs to have an 18-month separation before they can even file. From start to finish, a divorce there can take almost three years.
How does divorce work in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, a divorce is initiated when one spouse files a ‘Complaint’ in a circuit clerk’s office in the appropriate county. Copies of the Complaint and a Summons to Court are given to the opposing party, called the defendant, generally by a process server.