How is the new DUI law going to work?
The new law creates a higher set of penalties for those having higher BAC levels. It allows for treament at all levels, and requires alcohol highway safety school for all first and second time offenders. For those at the highest BAC levels, the new law has strict penalties, but also allows for treatment.
What’s the new law on DUI for first time offenders?
The combination of an individual’s Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level, and prior offenses, determines the licensing requirements and penalties. The new law focuses on treatment for first-time DUI offenders, rather than strictly punishment and suspension. There are now three levels of DUI:
How often do people get involved in DUI’s?
The following DUI statistics reveal the extent of drunk driving and its consequences in the United States. About one in three people will be involved in a drunk driving crash during their lifetimes. 2. Every day, 28 people die as a result of drunk driving crashes on average. 2.
What happens if you get a DUI in PennDOT?
1 1st degree misdemeanor 2 18 month license suspension 3 90 days to 5 years prison 4 $1,500 to $10,00 fine 5 alcohol highway safety school 6 treatment when ordered 7 1 year ignition interlock
When does the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration release DUI data?
Though the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) doesn’t release DUI data until the end of the calendar year, we can deduce from the sources above that drunk driving infractions, like most crimes, will see a substantial dip across the United States as long as the country deals with the coronavirus pandemic.
What are the different stages of a DUI trial?
The different stages of a DUI trial consist of: 1 Choosing a jury. 2 Opening statements from your attorney and the state prosecutor. 3 Witness testimonies and cross examining. 4 Closing arguments from your attorney and the state prosecutor. 5 Jury deliberation and decision.
Which is the easiest state to get a DUI in?
Arkansas, Rhode Island, West Virginia, and Wisconsin have the lowest DUI punishment by state for first-time offenders. Kentucky, Wisconsin, and Wyoming lead the list of states with most lenient drunk driving laws for a 2nd DUI.
What happens at the beginning of a DUI case?
DUI Arraignment. Arraignment begins when you first appear in court for your DUI offense. You stand before the judge who will: Read the charges being brought against you. Ask if you need an attorney (if you don’t already have one). Ask how you plea to the charges. If applicable, make alterations to your bail.