How do I take my personal time off?

How do I take my personal time off?

A blueprint for making the most out of your personal days.

  1. Make sure you’re actually taking time off.
  2. Communicate up front.
  3. Be gracious and reasonable.
  4. Think twice before lying about being sick.
  5. Don’t use paid time off to avoid difficult tasks.
  6. If you’re taking time off, use it wisely.

Do you have a right to time off work in Connecticut?

Your employer must give you leave for certain purposes in Connecticut. Many employers provide time off for vacation, sick leave, personal days, or paid time off (PTO). In addition to these policies, you may have a legal right to take leave from work for health, family, and caretaking responsibilities.

How to search for a job in Connecticut?

Keep up to date on career fairs being offered across the state and find out what companies are attending different fairs. Residents have access to contact information for more than 140,000 employers in the state and can search by region, occupation or industry.

How many weeks off can you take in Connecticut?

Connecticut has its own version of the family and medical leave law. It requires employers with at least 75 employees to give eligible employees up to 16 weeks off in any 24-month period for the following reasons: for the employee to recover from a serious health condition.

How much does Connecticut Department of Labor match?

Incumbent Worker Training Program can provide your company with up to $50,000 in matching funds

Your employer must give you leave for certain purposes in Connecticut. Many employers provide time off for vacation, sick leave, personal days, or paid time off (PTO). In addition to these policies, you may have a legal right to take leave from work for health, family, and caretaking responsibilities.

Connecticut has its own version of the family and medical leave law. It requires employers with at least 75 employees to give eligible employees up to 16 weeks off in any 24-month period for the following reasons: for the employee to recover from a serious health condition.

What does it mean to be an employee in CT?

Employees in CT are generally considered at-will employees, which means that either the employer or the employee is free to end the relationship at any time unless there is an applicable contract or collective bargaining agreement.

Is it illegal to retaliate against an employee in Connecticut?

It is illegal for an employer to retaliate against individuals who have exercised their rights under the Connecticut Unemployment Compensation Act. Conn. Gen. Stat. ยง31-226a provides individuals who believe that they have been retaliated against with an opportunity for a hearing.