How do I get my license back if I owe child support in Florida?

How do I get my license back if I owe child support in Florida?

After the Child Support Program receives your payment or you complete a written agreement to repay your past-due amount, pay your driver license reinstatement fee online at or visit your local DHSMV or tax collector office to pay the license reinstatement fees.

Does Florida suspend driver’s license for child support?

Driver’s License Suspensions Related To Child Support The Florida Department of Revenue (DOR) will issue a written notice to parents who are behind in child support payments informing them that their driver’s license and registration may be suspended.

How do I pay to reinstate my license in Florida?

You may then present a reinstatement fee, if applicable, to any Florida driver license service center or call 850-617-3000 to pay the reinstatement fee over the phone. You may obtain the suspending citation information online or check the status of your clearance by using our Online Driver License Check.

Can I pay my drivers license reinstatement fee online Florida?

ONLINE. Pay your past-due amount by credit card or electronic check at You should be able to receive your reinstated driver license at a local DHSMV or tax collector office in approximately 5 to 11 business days after paying the reinstatement fees with DHSMV.

Can your license be suspended for not having insurance in Florida?

Failure to maintain required insurance coverage in Florida may result in the suspension of your driver license/registration and a requirement to pay a reinstatement fee of up to $500.

What happens if I don’t pay child support in Florida?

If a parent is able to pay child support and is simply purposely not paying it, they can be found to be in contempt of court. This is a serious offense and may involve jail time. Failure to pay child support can also negatively affect an individual’s credit score and can cause liens to be placed on their property.

What documents do you need to reinstate your license in Florida?

There are several ways you can get your driver license suspended in the Sunshine State, but only one way to get it lifted. You will need to go a FL DMV office to go through a Florida license reinstatement process….You will need to know:

  • Your driver license number.
  • Social Security number and/or.
  • Insurance policy number.

    Can your license be suspended for not paying court fees in Florida?

    This year, Florida legislators will have the opportunity to finally pass legislation to end one of the state’s most counterproductive laws — driver’s license suspensions for unpaid criminal court fines and fees.

    What do I need to reinstate my license in Florida?

    How to reinstate your license

    1. Pay various fines.
    2. Take DMV-approved traffic school (optional)
    3. Take drug and alcohol course.
    4. Take court-ordered community service hours.
    5. Complete jail time.
    6. Complete probation period.

    What happens if you owe child support and lose your license?

    Clearly, losing one’s license has the potential to impact one’s ability to earn enough money to pay child support in the first place. As such, most states allow time for due process to take place. This means the non-custodial parent is usually be notified first that child support payments are owed and that a suspension could occur.

    How can I get my drivers license back after child support?

    To get your license back, you should: Contact Your Local Child Support Office: Let the child support office know you are aware of the situation. Attempt To Make A Payment: Call your local child support office and make a lump sum payment if you can and work out a payment plan for the rest of the owed child support.

    Why is my driver’s license suspended for child support?

    A driver’s license suspension for child support is merely the government’s way of getting your attention. They just want you to start paying your child support. So, the Department of Revenue (Child Support Enforcement) is not going to demand all of the back payments up front.

    Can a non custodial parent lose their driver’s license?

    These things commonly include cars, the house, and other possessions. It’s also possible for a person to lose their driver’s license following a divorce. Almost all states —43 in all—will suspend the driver’s license of a non-custodial parent who owes child support.

    What happens to my license if I fail to pay child support?

    All 50 states have laws requiring license suspension if a parent falls behind on child support payments. Depending on the state, the obligor (the parent who owes child support) may have one or several of the following licenses revoked should they fail to pay child support:

    How do you get your driver’s license back after child support?

    Now, this must be done with a motion. Do not call the Department of Revenue and ask them over the phone to lift your child support suspension. They’ll tell you they won’t do it, or that they’ll only do it if you pay some ridiculous down payment. Again, you must file a motion. It’s called a Petition to Reinstate Driver’s License.

    What to do if your child support is late in Florida?

    First, the custodial parent can call the Florida Department of Revenue’s Child Support Enforcement (FCSE) program for help. The FCSE can check all of Florida’s financial records, such as bank accounts, to see if the delinquent parent has any money to satisfy the late payments.

    How much does it cost to revoke a Florida driver’s license?

    Payment for the following fees are required to reinstate your suspended driver’s license in Florida: Suspension: $45. Revocation: $75. You may be required to pay additional fees, depending on the circumstances of your suspension/revocation: D-6 suspension (for unpaid traffic tickets ): $60. Child support suspension: $60.