Do you pay child support if you have 50/50 custody in BC?

Do you pay child support if you have 50/50 custody in BC?

If the children spend equal or almost equal time (50-50 parenting time or 40-60 parenting time) with both parents, the parent with the higher income usually has to pay child support. As such the other parent is required to pay child support.

Do I have to pay child support if I have joint custody in California?

Can a parent still receive California child support when there is joint custody? Yes. The State of California believes that both parents have a duty to provide financial support to a child. When one parent has sole physical custody, the non-custodial parent is usually ordered to pay child support.

At what age can a child decide if they want to visit the other parent California?

Although the law specifically permits children at least 14-years-old to express an opinion, there is no specific age when a judge will listen to a child’s opinion. California statutes also permit a child younger than 14 years old to testify regarding a custodial preference, unless the court decides it’s not in the …

Do you have to have 50-50 custody in California?

Joint physical custody is typically synonymous with a 50-50 parenting time arrangement. However, California child custody laws do not require a 50-50 parenting time for there to be joint physical custody. So long as each parent has significant periods of time with the children, joint physical custody is appropriate.

When to pay child support with 50 / 50 custody?

Paying So Much Child Support With 50/50 Custody. While prevailing opinion (with some exceptions) may be that when an equal parenting arrangement has been created via a child custody order or agreement between parents – each parent should be responsible for the financial responsibilities of the children in their own home.

What are the rules for child custody in California?

1. Temporary absence or relocation of a parent from the family residence. Reasonable efforts to maintain parenting time with a child is critical for a parent that moves out of the family home.

What was the first year of 50 / 50 custody?

During the first few years of our 50/50 custody arrangement, we appeared to be on such good terms that I would allow him into my house when he picked up our daughter for custody exchanges. Looking back, I can’t believe it! Had he really changed for the better? I’ve been through the wringer over the last few years concerning my daughter’s custody.

Is there such a thing as 50 / 50 custody?

There is no such thing in the Federal tax law as 50/50, split, or joint custody. The IRS only recognizes physical custody (which parent the child lived with the greater part, but over half, of the tax year. That parent is the custodial parent; the other parent is the noncustodial parent.)

Can a parent have custody of a child in California?

In California, either parent can have custody of the children, or the parents can share custody. The judge makes the final decision about custody and visitation but usually will approve the arrangement (the parenting plan) that both parents agree on.

When does a child have a choice in custody?

When (at what age) the child can make the choice. There was a time when a child’s choice was a non-factor until the child reached his or her late teenage years. However, child custody laws in California became more progressive. The legislature passed Family Code 3042 and its companion in California Rules of Court 5.250.

How is new California law may affect child Cust-guides?

(c) If the child is 14 years of age or older and wishes to address the court regarding custody or visitation, the child shall be permitted to do so, unless the court determines that doing so is not in the child’s best interests.