Can you withhold overtime pay?

Can you withhold overtime pay?

In summary, it is not illegal to refuse making overtime payments but this is dependent on whether or not your employees’ modern award or agreement sets out overtime rates do not apply. Otherwise, you must pay your employees overtime or penalty rates, which you must legally do so.

What is compensation for overtime?

Under Sec. 33 it is mentioned that for overtime wages are to be paid at the rate of twice the ordinary rates of wages of the worker. Under Sec. 17 & 18 of the Act relating to working hours, it is mentioned that the period of work including over time work should not exceed 10 hours in a day and 54 hours in a week.

When does overtime apply-employee entitlements?

Overtime is when an employee works extra time. It can include work done: beyond their ordinary hours of work. outside the agreed number of hours. outside the spread of ordinary hours.

How is overtime calculated for part time employees?

As a part-time employee, you are entitled to pay for overtime work. The payment depends on whether your hours exceed the normal working hours of a similar full-time employee. Your overtime pay is calculated as follows: You work 4 hours a day and a full-time employee works 8 hours. Your hourly basic rate of pay is $5.

How much do you get paid for overtime after 44 hours?

Their hours after 44 must be paid at the overtime pay rate. Overtime pay is 1½ times the employee’s regular rate of pay. (This is often called “time and a half.”) For example, an employee who has a regular rate of $17.00 an hour will have an overtime rate of $25.50 an hour (17 × 1.5 = 25.50).

When do you get paid overtime in Ontario?

For most employees, whether they work full-time, part-time, are students, temporary help agency assignment employees, or casual workers, overtime begins after they have worked 44 hours in a work week. Their hours after 44 must be paid at the overtime pay rate. Overtime pay is 1½ times the employee’s regular rate of pay.

When is an employee entitled to overtime pay?

Who Is Entitled To Overtime Pay? Most employees in the US are entitled to overtime pay under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), a comprehensive federal employment law. But some aren’t, and the rules can be complex. Workers who are “exempt” from FLSA overtime aren’t entitled to higher rates when they work over 40 hours in a week.

When do you get overtime pay in Maine?

Most hourly employees in Maine are entitled to a special overtime pay rate for any hours worked over a total of 40 in a single work week (defined as any seven consecutive work days by the Fair Labor Standards Act).

How much do you get paid for overtime in Connecticut?

If you earn more then the Connecticut minimum wage rate, you are entitled to at least 1.5 times your regular hourly wage for all overtime worked. Overtime is paid after 40 hours of actual work in the same work week. It is calculated at one and one-half times your regular rate of pay, or $14.40 for minimum wage.

What are the requirements for overtime under the FLSA?

Unless specifically exempted, employees covered by the Act must receive overtime pay for hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek at a rate not less than time and one-half their regular rates of pay. There is no limit in the Act on the number of hours employees aged 16 and older may work in any workweek.