Modern Tools

Can an employer make you work more than 8 hours a day?

Can an employer make you work more than 8 hours a day?

“Yes,” your employer can require you to work overtime and can fire you if you refuse, according to the Fair Labor Standards Act or FLSA (29 U.S.C. § 201 and following), the federal overtime law. And “no,” your employer doesn’t have to pay you overtime if you work more than eight hours in a day.

What are the hours of work in Michigan?

Work Days. The work day shall consist of twenty four (24) consecutive hours commencing at 12:01 a.m. Whenever practicable and consistent with program needs, employees shall work on five (5) consecutive work days separated by two (2) consecutive days off. Section 3. Work Shift.

What are the laws of employment in Michigan?

Federal law covers some of these areas, and state laws can supplement them. If you live in Michigan, Michigan labor laws regulate the basic working conditions of both salaried employees, usually paid by the month, and those who work by the hour.

How much is the minimum wage in Michigan?

The Michigan minimum wage effective January 1, 2021, is $9.65. Can my employer pay me ‘Comp Time’ instead of paying me overtime? Is there a law that I get paid double time or triple time when I work a holiday?

How much do you get paid for overtime in Michigan?

Michigan’s overtime salary laws apply to any employee working for a company with at least two employees. In Michigan, the amount of overtime pay is set at one and one-half times the hourly pay. For example, if an employee is earning $12 an hour, she will get $12 an hour for each of the first 40 hours she works in a week.

What are the wage and hour laws in Michigan?

An employer who chooses to provide a meal, lunch, or break period must complete relieve employees of their work duties for the break period to be unpaid. Michigan Dept. of Employment, security & Workplace Safety: Wage & Hour Div. FAQ.

How old do you have to be to work in Michigan?

Meals and Breaks. Michigan labor laws required employers to provide employees under eighteen (18) years of age with a thirty (30) minute uninterrupted rest period if scheduled to work more than five (5) continuous hours. Mich. Comp. Laws 409.112.

Is there a prevailing wage law in Michigan?

Michigan does not have a prevailing wage law that governs wage rates on government project or service contracts. Under certain circumstances, employers in Michigan may be required to pay residents wage rates established by federal prevailing wage rates and rules.

When do you have to pay overtime in Michigan?

Michigan labor laws require employers to pay employees overtime at a rate of 1½ time their regular rate when they work more than 40 hours in a workweek, unless otherwise exempt. Mich. Comp.